13 July 2017

Former student’s YA debut to be published in August

MICHELLE KENNEY EDIT 2
by Rufus Purdy Novels by CBC Alumni, Student Successes

Huge congratulations to Michelle Kenney (above) – our 33rd student to get a book deal – whose debut YA novel Book of Fire is to be published by HarperCollins imprint HQ Digital on 25 August. Michelle studied on one of our children’s writing courses in Autumn 2015, and developed the novel in a series of workshops and one-to-one tutorials with her 14 coursemates and tutor Catherine Johnson.

Book of Fire, which has already been described as ‘The Fire Sermon meets Gladiator’, is the tale of twins Eli and Talia, who – according to the laws of Michelle’s world, where ‘insiders’ live inside domes – shouldn’t exist. An unexpected forest raid forces Talia into a desperate mission to rescue her family whilst also protecting the sacred Book of Arafel from those who would use it as a weapon. As Talia and her lifelong friend Max enter the dome, she makes some unexpected discoveries, and allies, in the form of rugged Insider August, which will change the course of her life forever. She will stop at nothing to save her family but will she sacrifice her heart in the process? Perfect for fans of Francesca Haig, Suzanne Collins and Veronica Roth, Book of Fire will have readers asking August or Max? Insider or Outsider? And, most importantly, what would you do for family?

Michelle is a prolific writer, who can usually be found daydreaming about mystical, fantasy worlds. She holds a LLB (Hons) Degree and is currently an Accredited Practitioner with the CIPR, with whom she has won several national awards for her Magazine & Media/PR related work. Along with the other members of her Curtis Brown Creative Writing YA and Children’s Fiction course, she is a member of The Scribblers – an online group dedicated to detailing their journey from writing course to publication.

To pre-order a copy of Book of Fire, please click here.

As well as expert teaching from published authors, all our three- and six-month novel-writing courses offer dedicated modules on submitting your novel to literary agents – and include sessions on writing a synopsis and preparing a covering letter. Click for more information or to apply for our creative writing courses.

back to Blog

Our Courses

Lisa O'Donnell, Author and CBC Tutor
online

Six-month Online Novel-Writing Course with Lisa O’Donnell

18 Feb – 22 Jul
Laura Barnett
london

Six-month London Course With Laura Barnett

18 Feb – 11 Jul
Catherine Johnson
online

Writing YA and Children’s Fiction With Catherine Johnson

01 Apr – 01 Jul
STWYN
online

Starting to Write Your Novel

16 Jan – 27 Feb
FOUNDATION