All our tutors

Our tutors are all authors or publishing professionals. Click to read their full bios.

Christie Watson

  • #1 bestselling author
  • Author of 3 acclaimed non-fiction books

Clare Alan

  • Script editor and producer on a wide range of TV and film projects

Kirsty Logan

  • Winner of the Polari First Book Prize
  • Winner of the Saboteur Award for Best Short Story Collection
  • Acclaimed novelist, short story writer and poet

Lisa O’Donnell

  • Winner of the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize

S J Parris

  • Author of the bestselling Giordano Bruno series

Anna Davis

  • Founder and director of Curtis Brown Creative
  • Author of 5 acclaimed novels

Charlotte Mendelson

  • Longlisted for the 2022 Women's Prize for Fiction
  • Longlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize

Emma Kavanagh

  • Author of 6 acclaimed crime novels
  • Holds a PhD in cognitive psychology

Andrew Michael Hurley

  • Winner of the Costa First Novel Award
  • Published in 20 languages

Ali Shaw

  • Winner of the Desmond Elliott Prize
  • Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award

Wyl Menmuir

  • Long-listed for the Man Booker Prize

Lauren Pearson

  • Author of five books for young readers
  • Former literary agent and current freelance editor

Craig Barr-Green

  • Award-winning children's author
  • Lecturer at Falmouth University

Jenny Colgan

  • Author of multiple Sunday Times bestselling novels
  • Over 5 million copies sold worldwide

Crystal Jeans

  • Shortlisted for the Polari Prize
  • Winner of the Wales Book of the Year

Adam Roberts

  • Vice-President of the H G Wells Society
  • BSFA Award shortlistee

David O’Connell

  • Sunday Times bestseller

Yvvette Edwards

  • Nominated for the Man Booker Prize

Cathi Unsworth

  • Longlisted for the 2014 Theakston Crime Novel of the Year Award
  • Editor of the award-winning short story collection London Noir

Nikita Lalwani

  • Longlisted for the 2007 Man Booker Prize
  • Winner of the 2008 Desmond Elliot Prize

Laura Kay

  • Author of 2 renowned novels

Emily Barr

  • Bestselling YA author

Jamie Nuttgens

  • Award-winning writer, producer and director in TV and Film
  • Lecturer in Screenwriting at Oxford University

Patrice Lawrence

  • Winner of the Jhalak Prize for Children and Young People
  • Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Children
  • Received MBE for literature

Jake Arnott

  • Bestselling author
  • Author of 7 acclaimed novels
Catherine Johnson, Author

Catherine Johnson

  • Author of over 20 novels
  • Carnegie medal nominee

Sarah McIntyre

  • Award-winning author and illustrator
  • Founder of the #PicturesMeanBusiness campaign

Suzannah Dunn

  • Author of 14 acclaimed novels
  • Over a quarter of a million copies sold in the UK alone

Vaseem Khan

  • Sunday Times bestseller
  • Winner of the 2021 CWA Historical Dagger Award

Laura Barnett

  • #1 Bestseller
  • Author of 3 acclaimed novels

Simon Wroe

  • Winner of the Betty Trask Award
  • Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award

Cynan Jones

  • Winner of the BBC National Short Story Award
  • Published in over 20 countries

Ayisha Malik

  • Author of 3 critically acclaimed novels
  • Winner of The Diverse Book Awards

Julia Armfield

  • Winner of the 2018 White Review Short Story Prize
  • Winner of the 2020 Pushcart Prize

Colin Teevan

  • Celebrated playwright, translator and writer for screen
  • Emeritus Professor of Screenwriting and Playwriting at Birkbeck, University of London

Anthony Anaxagorou

  • Shortlisted for the 2019 T.S Eliot Prize
  • Award-winning slam poet

Lizzie Enfield

  • Columnist for Writing Magazine
  • Author of 5 acclaimed novels

Christopher Wakling

  • Author of 6 acclaimed novels

Jacob Ross

  • Winner of the 2017 Jhalak Prize
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature
  • Associate Fiction Editor at Peepal Tree Press

Sarah Hilary

  • Winner of the 2015 Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year Award
  • Award-winning short story writer

Erin Kelly

  • Sunday Times top ten besteller
  • The Poison Tree adapted into a major ITV drama

Abbie Greaves

  • Shortlisted for the RNA Debut Novel of the Year Award

Tessa Hadley

  • Author of 8 novels & 3 short story collections
  • Winner of the Edge Hill Prize
  • Regular contributor to the New Yorker

Mentees will be matched with an experienced author

  • You will be personally matched with a tutor

Cathy Rentzenbrink

  • Sunday Times bestseller
  • Shortlisted for the Wellcome Prize

Simon Ings

  • Author of 8 acclaimed novels
  • Columnist for the Times

Anna Freeman

  • Winner of the 2013 Tibor Jones Pager-Turner Prize
  • Slam-winning spoken word performer